Day 52: Poison Meadow Spring

June 2nd, 2014
16.7 miles today
746.86 miles total

After last nights revolt of the spirit, I woke up surprisingly refreshed. The only hint anything was amis was a small tinge of a headache. I drank a lot of water and had my dinner for breakfast. Arctic and I took our time as we were waiting for the rest of the gang to catch up. It turned out they passed us around 7 and were just hanging around until we were up. Wow they were quiet.

image

All said and done Arctic and I took off close to 9:30. I still felt rather blah, my energy was so low it was kind of patetic. So, Arctic took the lead and was amazing enough to wait for me on the ups. He also called a much earlier break than normal, which made my day. It wasn’t until lunch time or around mile 10 that I was actually starting to feel close to 100% again. It was a rough morning, but I am so very thankful that Arctic was there to motivate me.

image

When we reached Diaz creek we were told Angles, Owl, and Slims were down by the water. It was lovely to siesta with them. They know how to live. Owl read us some Walt Whitman as we enjoyed the view. It was a lovely rest.

image

After that we all decided to push on to the next spring. It was only 5 miles, but with the altitude it took me a bit longer than it should have. Once I arrived, others were cooking dinner. With a bear can it was easier to just grab water and walk a bit towards a semi decent campsite. Tonight we got to laugh a lot with Moxa and Mr. President. I am so very thankful for the amazing people on this trail.

image

Leave a Reply

