Day 21: Big Bear to Van Dusen Canyon

May 1st, 2014
9 miles out of town
275 total

I actually slept really well outside in the yard. After a yummy breakfast from Papa Smurf, Arctic and I were off to run some errands. Once those were finished we stopped off for some brunch at the Grizzly Manor. I had a delicious blueberry waffle with a heaping topping of whipped cream.

From town we headed back to the hostel. There I was hoping to see my friend Hobbes. He started a few days after me and is making killer miles. He wasn’t outside with the rest of the hikers assembled there but I found him inside. It was great to see him and give him a big hug. It had been almost a year since I had last seen him.

Eventually I said goodbye to all the fun new hikers and hitched a ride back to the trail. There Arctic, Emu, Muzzy and myself all took off hiking. It was a lovely 9 miles. We filled up water at the creek and pushed on a bit further to a wonderful campsite on a hill. Tonight I am sleeping under the stars. Happy to be back on the trail.

image

image

The good life.

Leave a Reply

