Day 17: Ziggy and The Bear’s to Whitewater Preserve

April 27th, 2014
8ish miles
218.60 total miles

Alas kickoff is over it is time to get back to the wonderful world of hiking. I heard others get up early, but I wanted to enjoy the last few minutes of sleep. The movie finished way past hiker midnight. But after Arctic and I wandered back to our tents it was time for bed. I did however sleep really well. Perhaps it was due to lack of gale force winds and heavy rain?

After packing up my stuff and getting my pack ready to go I headed over to breakfast. There while eating amazing breakfast burritos full of fruit I said goodbye to my lovely friends.

Kay was ready to bring Idan, Amtrak, Catdog, and myself to our respective trail destinations. Since I was the farthest north I was the last one dropped off. Kay was amazing enough to stop off at an outfitters so I could buy some sun gloves.

I reached Ziggy and the Bear’s around noon. After final pack adjustments I was saying my farewells around 1:30. Ziggy reminded me to wear my hat. I highly recommend staying there. They are lovely folks who welcome you in like your grandparents. Thanks for the hospitality.

From there the trail took off towards the wind farm. The temps remained comfortable with the gusty breeze. It was great to be back on the trail.

image

After a break Borealis caught up to me and we hiked together for the rest of the afternoon. He reminded me a lot of some other amazing Canadians I know. The company was perfect for the afternoon.

image

Eventually we ended up at the trail junction for the Whitewater Preserve. Although it was still not yet 5 pm, I was ready for a good nights sleep. I said goodbye to Borealis who was planning a few more miles and made the beautiful half mile trek to the ranger station.

image

Man was I glad to have called it a day. Roi, Sarah, Arctic, Tent stake, Coach, First Class, Levity, Mirage, and John are all here too. This place is amazing, it used to be an old trout farm and the grounds are beautiful. We are camping under some old trees on GRASS!

image

After diner Roi brought out his uke. As the sun set we sang songs told stories and laughed.

image

As the stars came up we sang one final song… Somewhere Over The Rainbow. What a wonderful way to say goodnight. Such good people, always loving this journey.

Tonight the Peepers and frogs are singing, yes I am in a desert oasis. It reminds me of home.

Leave a Reply

