California dreaming

image

California! After a long day of travel I arrived in San Diego. My checked bag
was definitely searched. I wasn’t really surprised by this as I can only imagine what it looked like on their x-ray machine. Plastics, metals, and liquids… glad they are doing their jobs. I was a bit worried as I’ve heard horror stories of missing stoves or wrecked poles. However everything seems to be accounted for.

After landing, I walked in the lovely 70* weather to the meet up point. There Wilderness Bob and I waited for Scout to pick us up. It was great to see two old friends catch up on trail stories and folks they both knew on their own hikes.  It was a wonderful way to jump back into the trail community. Trail family is just like your real life family, you can pick up right where you left off years before. 

We then collected two folks who were doing last minute shopping at REI. Once back to Scout and Frodo’s we relaxed and enjoyed some delicious lasagna and talk in the backyard. Already there is so much magic, I am so grateful to all the folks I have met so far.

Favorite quote of the night:
“You know you hike one or three don’t you.” – Wilderness Bob (triple crowner) on how you can’t just hike two long distance trails. Oh jeez.

Today I am wide awake at 5:30, ready to get life figured out and organize my pack. I will make my last cuts today. A guy named Mike left this morning with a 24lb pack. I can’t imagine doing that, but will hopefully come in under 40 lbs. with food and water. Water weighs a ton but it is very essential.

image

image

Emmit at the airport.

One thought on “California dreaming

Leave a Reply

