PCT mind control?

Hello, my name is Sunbeam and I am an addict. Yes, I am addicted to all things PCT at the moment. I remember this stage from my AT days. It is what I think about most waking hours and sometimes in my sleep. Topics of life these days: Will this dehydrate? Is it to early to buy my plane ticket? Am I annoying all of my friends with my constant talk and thoughts of the PCT? Gah, waiting is so hard!

So here it goes. I bought a dehydrator and immediately had buyers remorse. Why was I wasting $65, that I could use on something else, such as buying food on the trail? Well after over thinking it I decided to keep it. I can always try to resell it before I hit the trail or keep it for future dehydrating fun.

So much dried goodness.

So much dried goodness.

I have spent the past week dehydrating EVERYTHING I can get my hands on. So far I have dried: green beans, peas, red peppers, black beans, chickpeas, carrots, onions and celery.  I am also planning on adding quinoa, rice,  noodles and some great sauces and curries to pizazz my meals and  to save on fuel and cooking time.  While I really loved the “buy as I went” method on previous long trips (this is where you hit grocery stores or convenience stores and get all the food you will need for the next section each trip into town), I think it will be really nice to add some more healthy items rather than the usual delicious junk and added sodium to my diet. So my approach is going to be a hybrid of  buying as I go where there are ample options and send myself food in the places where there are limited options.

Another thing I have been mulling over was when to start. I am really thinking of hitting the trail on April 11th, for the sole reason that I started my AT thru hike on March 11th.  Another reason is the fact that there is a Lunar eclipse on April 15th. I think it would be really awesome to experience this on the trail. Often guidebooks and former thru hikers advise against an early start  due to the snow conditions in the Sierras.  Too much snow makes traversing this section a nightmare. However, so far this year it has pretty dry (yes, I hope for snow and know there is still a lot of winter left) I think it will be okay. I want to start early to give myself time to get my trail legs as well as enough time to finish. In 2013 many thru hikes were cut short due to an early start on winter in Washington. Also I want to be a head of the huge bubble of hikers that normally start at the big Kick Off gathering at the end of the month. So that leaves me with the question: to buy the plane ticket now or to wait? Just another thing to consider.

Lastly, I sure hope my Pacific Crest Trail talk isn’t annoying those around me. I know I love to talk about the Appalachian Trail a whole lot too. But this is what I love, I am so passionate about this journey that I can’t control myself. I first noticed it might be getting out of control when two separate neighbors asked me about it this week.

triplecrownlogos

One even asked about the possibility of a triple crown attempt… (the triple crown is when you complete the three longest hiking trails in the U.S.. The trails are the Appalachian Trail, the Pacific Crest Trail, and the Continental Divide Trail. ) My answer, “one day at a time.” I remember finishing the AT and listening to my fellow hikers talk about their dreams for the PCT. At the time I wasn’t there. I needed a bit more time to fully understand what the AT journey meant to me and my life. After my section hike in 2011, I knew it was time to get back out there. So right now, to answer this question I will say this: My AT journey changed me, I hope this next adventure on the PCT will also help me grow as a person, into the best I can be. But I will take it a day at a time. Right now I am happy with what I have accomplished. If I can complete a thru hike of the PCT that would be pretty cool too. So in other words, don’t count it out yet. 😉

One thought on “PCT mind control?

  1. Pingback: ‘The Journalist’ compiles dispatches from Pacific Crest Trail hikers | Outdoor SoCal

Leave a Reply

