Mountain Life

Well, here it is January 7th, the winter winds are blowing hard through my windows. There are light flakes falling from the heavens. It sure is beautiful. I have spent my morning looking up sleeping bags, do I want a quilt or an actual bag. I have decided to upgrade my bag as my old 15* Phantom seems to be losing it’s loft. I guess that is what happens when you live out of it for months on end.

I spent the end of December up at Zealand Falls Hut, I had a lot of guests. I love the fact that nobody seems to ever ask “Why don’t you get a real job” when they are at the hut. I think they actually get it, they may even wish they had chosen the woods over offices. Being a caretaker is wonderful, I love waking up every morning and look out into the beautiful mountains.

I have a bumper sticker on my car that says: “The AT ruined my life!” People often ask about it. I just say, it didn’t really ruin it, it made it so much better. I have since lived the life I have imagined. I have spent the last five years being outside in the sunshine, and taking life as it comes. I don’t think money is what living is about, rather I think living is what life is about. My pockets may be “empty” by many standards, but my level of happiness is beyond capacity. I guess that is why I am so excited for the PCT, I am excited to live in the sunshine. I am excited to meet new people, see new places, and breath in that air. Life my friends, is pretty darn cool.

-Sunbeam

Leave a Reply

